Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board advises the Directorate and Board of Scientific Directors on the scientific programme and its consequences for the proposed budget, and accordingly settles the budget. Besides the President of the Max Planck Society, the Supervisory Board comprises four representatives from politics and four others appointed by the Max Planck Society.


  • Prof. Dr. Patrick Cramer
    President of the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science
  • Dr. Volkmar Dietz
    Representative of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Prof. Dr. Wolfgang A. Herrmann
    President emeritus of the Technical University of Munich (TUM)
  • Prof. Dr. Rolf-Dieter Heuer
    Vice President of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft e.V.
  • Dr. Stefan Kaufmann
    Advisor to thyssenkrupp AG for the development of the hydrogen economy

  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Joachim Ullrich
    President of the German Physical Society

  • Dr. Sabine Jarothe
    Bavarian State Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy, as representative of the Free State of Bavaria
  • Woldemar Venohr
    Ministry of Science, Culture, Federal and European Affairs Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
Go to Editor View