Prof. Dr. Sibylle Günter

Scientific Director of IPP

Sibylle Günter was born on 20 April 1964 in Rostock. She took her degree in physics at the University of Rostock in 1987. Three years later she completed her PhD with a thesis on computational investigation of radiation from dense plasmas in the Department of Theoretical Physics, supervised by Prof. Röpke. From 1990 till 1996 she served as Scientific Assistant with the Chair of Theoretical Physics I. Her studies at the University of Rostock were extended by stays at the University of Maryland with Prof. H. R. Griem and as visiting scientist at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) with Dr. W. Wiese. She qualified for lectureship in 1996 with a thesis entitled "Optical Properties of Dense Plasmas" at the University of Rostock, where she still gives lectures.

Since February of the same year she has been a member of staff at Max-Planck-Instiute for Plasma Physics. On 1 Juli 2000 she was appointed Head of the Tokamak Physics Division (till 2011). Since 2001 she is adjunct professor at Rostock University, since 2006 "Honorarprofessor" (part-time professor) at TU Munich. Since February 2011 she is the Scientific Director of IPP.

Selected publications:

Yu, Q.; Günter, S.: Fast magnetic reconnection and driven plasma rotation in reversed central magnetic shear configuration. Nuclear Fusion 62, 126056 (2022)
Strumberger, E.; Günter, S.; W7-X Team, Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Max Planck Society: Linear, resistive stability studies for Wendelstein 7-X-type equilibria with external current drive. Nuclear Fusion 60, 106013 (2020)
Günter, S.; Yu, Q.; Lackner, K.; Bhattacharjee, A.; Huang, Y.-M.: Fast sawtooth reconnection at realistic Lundquist numbers. Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion 57, 014017 (2015)
Günter, S.; Lackner, K.: A mixed implicit-explicit finite difference scheme for heat transport in magnetised plasmas. Journal of Computational Physics 228 (2), pp. 282 - 293 (2009)
Günter, S.; Conway, G.; da Graca, S.; Fahrbach, H.-U.; Forest, C.; Garcia Munoz, M.; Hauff, T.; Hobirk, J.; Igochine, V.; Jenko, F. et al.; Lackner, K.; Lauber, P.; McCarthy, P.; Maraschek, M.; Martin, P.; Poli, E.; Sassenberg, K.; Strumberger, E.; Tardini, G.; Wolfrum, E.; Zohm, H.; ASDEX Upgrade Team: Interaction of energetic particles with large and small scale instabilities. Nuclear Fusion 47, pp. 920 - 928 (2007)
Go to Editor View