IPP staff

With its workforce of approx. 1,100 IPP is one of the largest fusion research centres in Europe. The institute and its scientific Divisions are headed by directors, who are appointed as Scientific Members of the Max Planck Society.


At the end of September 2023 there was a total of 1092 employees at the institute – 770 employees at IPP in Garching and 320 at IPP in Greifswald – including 312 scientists and 175 junior scientists and researchers; in addition there were numerous guest researchers.

Scientific Members / Division heads:

Prof. Dr. Ursel Fantz
Prof. Dr. Sibylle Günter (Scientific Director)
Prof. Dr. Per Helander
Prof. Dr. Frank Jenko
Prof. Dr. Thomas Klinger
Dr. Rachael M. McDermott
Prof. Dr. Eric Sonnendrücker
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Stroth
Prof. Dr. Robert Wolf
Prof. Dr. Hartmut Zohm

Emeritus Scientific Members:

Prof. Dr. Kurt Behringer
Prof. Dr. Alexander M. Bradshaw
Prof. Dr. Volker Dose
Prof. Dr. Gerd Fußmann
Prof. Dr. Karl Lackner
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Nührenberg
Prof. Dr. Friedrich Wagner
Prof. Dr. Rolf Wilhelm

External Scientific Members:

Prof. Dr. Allen Boozer
Prof. Dr. Folker Engelmann
Prof. Dr. Günther Hasinger

Go to Editor View