Divison Head

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Zohm
Phone:+49 89 3299-1925Fax:+49 89 3299-2580

Garching Site

Further Information

Tokamak Scenario Development

The  Tokamak Scenario Development Division (E 1) operates the tokamak ASDEX Upgrade which concentrates on treating the physical principles for a fusion power plant. Prominent is the preparation of the ITER large-scale experiment and the demonstration power plant DEMO.


On the one hand, points critical to the designing of the technical systems of ITER are being investigated; on the other, the operation of ITER is being prepared by developing suitable plasma states, so called 'scenarios'. Improvement of the standard operation scenario to enhance stability, confinement quality, and pulse length is also a major concern. Such plasma states should make it possible to achieve a much higher fusion power and longer pulse length in ITER. For such discharges with good confinement at high heating power it is also being attempted to optimise energy transport and particle control – including exhaust of the helium ash – and develop methods of controlling ELMs (edge-localised modes).

Also being investigated are magnetohydrodynamic (MHD) instabilities, which limit the operating range. Active control of these is being achieved in ASDEX Upgrade primarily by means of electron cyclotron resonance heating.

One important objective is to develop plasma states suitable for a reactor-compatible wall clad with tungsten: Since 2007 ASDEX Upgrade is run with a first wall completely clad with tungsten.

Moreover, personnel from the division are collaborating on the JET (Joint European Experiment) at Culham, UK. Here the emphasis lies on the transfer of results from ASDEX Upgrade to JET for investigating the scalability of these results to ITER.

 
loading content

Bereichsleitung

Prof. Dr. Hartmut Zohm
Telefon:+49 89 3299-1925Fax:+49 89 3299-2580

Standort Garching

Weitere Informationen

Tokamak-Szenario-Entwicklung

Der Bereich Tokamak-Szenario-Entwicklung betreibt den Tokamak ASDEX Upgrade, der die physikalischen Grundlagen für ein Fusionskraft­werk erarbeitet. Insbesondere wird damit der zurzeit in Cadarache/Frankreich entstehende Testreaktor ITER sowie ein Demonstrationskraftwerk vorbereitet.

Mit ASDEX Upgrade werden kritische Fragen untersucht, die für die Auslegung der technischen Systeme von ITER wichtig sind. Zudem wird der Betrieb von ITER durch Entwicklung geeigneter Plasmazustände (genannt 'Szenarien') vorbereitet. Ziel ist insbesondere die Verbesserung des Standard-Betriebsszenarios hin zu erhöhter Stabilität, Einschlussgüte und Pulslänge. Solche Plasmazustände sollten in ITER eine wesentlich erhöhte Fusionsleistung bzw. längere Pulsdauer erlauben. Für solche Entladungen mit gutem Einschluss bei hoher Heizleistung wird auch versucht, die Energieabfuhr und Teilchenkontrolle – einschließlich der Abfuhr der Heliumasche – zu optimieren und Methoden zur Kontrolle von Randinstabilitäten, den "Edge localised modes" (ELMs) zu entwickeln.

Untersucht werden außerdem magnetohydrodynamische Instabilitäten (MHD-Instabilitäten), die den Arbeitsbereich begrenzen. Deren aktive Kontrolle wird an ASDEX Upgrade vor allem mit Hilfe der Elektronen-Zyklotron-Resonanzheizung erreicht.

Ein wichtiges Ziel ist es, Plasmazustände zu entwickeln, die zu einer mit Wolfram bedeckten, kraftwerkstauglichen Wand passen: Seit 2007 ist das Plasmagefäß ASDEX Upgrade deshalb vollständig mit Wolfram ausgekleidet.

Die Mitarbeiter des Bereichs arbeiten ebenso mit an dem europäischen Gemeinschaftsexperiment JET in Culham/Großbritannien. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf dem Transfer von an ASDEX Upgrade gewonnenen Ergebnissen zu JET, um die Skalierbarkeit dieser Resultate zu ITER zu untersuchen.

 
loading content